The progression of a book cover.

Writing your novel or story is simply the start of a long process. The book cover was one I enjoyed and another lesson in the art and patience of an illustrator

Mudpile Wood

I believed, stupidly, that once I had the main story written that the other bits and bobs would fall into place in a matter of weeks.

How silly of me. (Naive I think is the word.)

Editing took a long time mainly down to me. But the evolution of the cover was the work of Sara. She asked for an outline of the book. I sent it on, along with a draft copy. Then there were a few telephone calls and much to my delight I received the first idea. Here it is:

school-house-cover-idea

The debate began. A few suggestions were made and this was the next idea,

sample-cover-for-emer

which we liked but the problem was Harry the seagull had been cut from the story.

So back to the drawing board and then with Harry cut, deleted, the next debate was the title and the type face (font) colours etc.

20150828_131523

Finally this was the…

View original post 13 more words

Bob and Maria will wake to reply to your comment,

