Maria’s Stuff: On the topic of diets ….

The word “diet” never sat well with me. As a chunky teenager, I always felt – fat. But joining an athletic club, plus cycling to and from school soon slimmed me down. As a result of this experience I have always, had an interest in cooking, dietary requirements and exercise. I apologize if this sounds pompous but it is the truth, I like food and I like to think healthy, always have and hope I always will do so.

When I stopped coaching athletics in primary schools I decided this extra time should be devoted to me, getting fitter. The main reason is simply,  I volunteer with a rescue group and I don’t want the fact I am older than some of the crew mean I am automatically thought of as too old to crew a boat or use Ellie for tracking. So I started going to a gym for classes and this progressed to Cross fit which I am hooked on as it has made me more aware of flexibility core strength etc, which can only mean a fitter me.

Hisilicon K3

Birthday Burpees – what a way to celebrate your birthday.

However I suppose in my long-winded way, the point of this whole tale is in general people do not stretch themselves, we take the easy way out, as I did for years saying I walk every day so I am fit enough. Truth is I have learnt a lot about myself, my body and  about the correct way to eat, (for me) and would love to encourage everyone to do the same. There is no magical diet but there is a way to eat (diet) to suit each one of us given our body shapes, our past times and our budget. It simply takes time to discover it. What do you think?

Bob and Maria will wake to reply to your comment,

