A Promising Encounter

snowdrops_202966

Heavy feet trudging through a meadow

distracted by winters shadow

By a gate I met a lone white capped sentry

Who neither gave nor denied entry

I supposed this fragile snowdrop

To be a lost member of a troop

 

Down by the water I was accosted by others

Smiling I accepted they were his brothers

Abandoned here by changing tide

Their delicate fragrant beauty too much to hide

Spread by the racing winds blow

To become an oblivious carpet of snow

 

My wonder grew as I crept past

For their present beauty was not to last

Some peeped out at me amongst the moss

I  wondered who was their boss

To carefully, tenderly tuck and sow

In such a way to ensure they would grow

 

Turning my head I questioned my thoughts

Others were stationed to taunt natures wrought

Daring and brave, they crept

From hedge to water, they slept

Guarding their promise outlying wardens stand in a ring

As silently each snowdrop heralds spring

 

Bob and Maria will wake to reply to your comment,

